[WP] Doomed Love

A/N- Another writing prompt- this one from Writer’s Digest (link below for anyone interested).

The prompt: “I wasn’t planning on this. Falling in love with you was the last thing I wanted. Because I know our time would have to come to end. Yet, here I am, begging you not to turn the page.”

http://goo.gl/bJyc4c

_____________________________

I wasn’t planning on this. Falling in love with you was the last thing I wanted. Because I knew our time would have to come to an end. Yet, here I am, begging you not to turn the page. 

You let me into your life. You, with your gentle spirit, always with a kind word to anyone who needed it. You, with your preference for dresses and cherries, your soft brown hair held back by a headband.

I watched you on train, rain or shine, on your way to work. I got to see that you always give away tokens to those that look less fortunate, slipping them gift cards to stores I only know through you. They smiled so brightly when they saw you coming, a look you always returned.

I watched you at your office, from the desk. I’ve watched you suffer silently, never being noticed for all that you do. You’re the glue that holds everything together. I wish you knew.

I watched you in your home, a cozy cottage that you infused with warmth. Creamy yellow walls, hand painted trinkets, and the white and brown cat that follows you everywhere. It smells like lilacs and freshly baked cookies.

My time is ending, and I wish you knew that I didn’t want it to.

You made me real, and the moment you turn the last page, I’ll cease to exist to you. I’ll just be another thing to be stowed away.

I’ll just be that story you read once, but for me, you showed me another world.

I never knew I’d find love outside my pages until I met you.

Leave a Reply

